About - overview - Collegium Medicum Nicolaus Copernicus UniversityCollegium Medicum Nicolaus Copernicus University

Ludwik Rydygier Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz
Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń 

Collegium Medicum was previously known as the Ludwik Rydygier Medical University, which was established by the Seym (the lower chamber of the Polish parliament) on 21st July 1984. In October of the same year, the Rector, Prof. dr hab. Jan Domaniewski, inaugurated the youngest medical university in Poland.

In 2004, the Medical University in Bydgoszcz was incorporated into the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń and renamed as the Ludwik Rydygier Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz. Since then, it has been providing academic education as part of NCU.

Currently, Collegium Medicum in Bydgoszcz provides education in the Polish language in 16 fields of study offered by three faculties:

Faculty of Medicine

  • biotechnology
  • dispensing optics and optometry
  • medicine
  • optometry

Faculty of Pharmacy

  • cosmetology
  • laboratory medicine
  • pharmacy

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • audiophonology
  • electroradiology
  • emergency medical science
  • midwifery
  • nursing
  • nutrition science
  • occupational therapy
  • physiotherapy
  • public health

The programmes are offered at the following levels:

  • Bachelor’s Degree
  • Master’s Degree
  • Doctoral studies 

Moreover, higher education programmes in the fields of medicine, nursing, physiotherapy and laboratory medicine are also offered in the English language. For more details, see Studies in English >>

Collegium Medicum currently holds 10 accreditations:

Two teaching hospitals function at Collegium Medicum as the institutional base for education, scientific research and highly specialised diagnostic, medical and rehabilitation services:

The organisational units of Collegium Medicum also collaborate with: